Mercy Trumps Rule Keeping

indexThis week we journeyed through Mark 2:23-3:6 as Jesus revealed himself as “Lord even of the Sabbath”. He was confronting the religious leaders and the layers of rules that had built around the Sabbath that had transformed it from a day of blessing to a day of burden.

We ended with thinking about what Sabbath is to be for us, in the 21st century. It was C.H. Spurgeon who, talking about Sabbath, said:

“The bow cannot be always bent without fear of breaking. Repose is as needful to the mind as sleep to the body. Rest time is not waste time. It is economy to gather fresh strength. It is wisdom to take occasional furlough. In the long run, we shall do more by sometimes doing less.”

What you do with Sabbath is ultimately, I believe, a matter of conscience. Most importantly we need to remember who is “Lord” of the Sabbath. Jesus is, and as such, he is the true source of the deep rest we need. I shared a few questions that ought to be helpful:

  • When do I slow down and remember Jesus as my Sabbath rest?
  • When do I take special time to reflect on God and to rejoice in him?
  • When do I receive the blessing of his command to rest so that my mind, body, and spirit can be refreshed by him?

Listen to the message from 6/8/2014: Mercy Trumps Rule Keeping from the series Jesus the Servant King.

